Heseltine Tournament

The Andover Hockey Association’s annual Heseltine Mite Tournament is held each Thanksgiving weekend.  This  tournament is the region’s premier ½-ice mite tournament and brings together teams of all abilities to compete in one of the oldest and most prestigious youth hockey events in the area. Games are played at Phillips Academy Ice Rinks - with a warm viewing room, full-service pro shop and numerous on-site amenities, including spacious locker rooms.  

2019 Dates:               Friday, November 29; Saturday November 30; and Sunday, December 1, 2019


Location:                    Phillips Academy Ice Rink, 254 South Main Street, Andover, MA


Entry Fee:                  $900 (checks made payable to Andover Hockey Association); each team is also asked to bring a raffle item with $50 min. value (raffles support AHA initiatives to make hockey more financially accessible in our community)


How to Register:       Email operations@andoverhockey.org to reserve a spot. Mail entry fee, team name, roster and preferred level of competition (A, B or C) to AHA Heseltine Tournament, c/o Michael Stevens, 6 Dumbarton Street, Andover MA 01810 no later than 10/30/19.


Additional Details Planned for 2019 Tournament:   

24 teams in 3 divisions

Half-ice tournament (USA Hockey ADM and host rules govern tournament)

Multiple divisions (host will divide teams into divisions)

Teams will play a minimum of 4 hours of games; most teams will average 6

Tournament program available on site

Trophies provided to winning teams

Sunday-only development jamboree for Mite house league teams


Scott Heseltine started skating on the Smith Rink in Andover at the age of four and developed a passion for the sport of hockey. Through hard work, Scott developed into a fine skater. As he grew older, he progressed through the program and played at all levels, Mites through Midget. During this same period he also played on the town baseball and football teams.  Scott’s life came to an abrupt end at the age of 18. Regrettably, in February 1982, a week after Scott was accepted to Villanova University, he and a close friend died in a car accident. Through this tournament, Scott’s memory and love for the game live on.  Scott’s two brothers also played in this program and went on to play at the high school level. George went on to play at the college level. Their father George coached in the Andover Hockey Association for twenty-two years.  The family has gained and learned a lot from the sport and the hopes that, through this tournament, each player will come away with a great memory and positive experience.


Previous Champions

1981 Danvers
1982 Newburyport
1983 Arlington
1984 Saugus
1985 Tewksbury
1986 Manchester
1989 Andover
1990 Lexington
1991 Arlington
1992 Lexington/Bedford
1993 Newburyport
1994 Andover
1995 Newburyport
1996 Methuen
1997 Wakefield
1998 Reading
1999 Andover
2000 Masconomet
2001 Marblehead
2002 North Andover
2003 Andover
2004 Andover
2005 Andover
2006 Marblehead
2007 Andover
2008 Wakefield
2009 Wakefield
2010 Andover
2011 Triton
2012 Andover
2013 Triton
2014 Micro Ice            A Division
  Wilmington       B Division 
  Andover Kings    C Division
2015 Rangers A Division
  Masconomet B Division 
2016 Woburn               A Division
  Andover Jets      B Division
  North Reading     C Division
2017 Andover              A Division
  Valley Junior Warriors  B Division
  North Reading     C Division
2018 Valley Junior Warriors  A Division
  Andover 2 B Division
  Andover Gold       C Division
2019 Tewksbury       A Division
Masconomet     B Division
Haverhill/Pentucket  C Division

Confirm Delete
Click the delete icon again to confirm. Click escape to cancel.